World Humanitarian Day – August 19, 2012

Are you?

What will you be doing tomorrow?

It’s taken me a long time to reach the point of action. I’ve always been highly critical of all the social ills in the world but I know that I have not done nearly enough to help people and the world change. But in order to reach this very point, I’ve had to change. It’s been a long process and it is still going. If you so will, I am a work in progress…just as humanity is a work in progress.

Tomorrow I will be spending time with someone who has reached out to me to show her gratitude and appreciation of what we’ve done to keep her healthy. But it is I who should be showing her my gratitude and appreciation for allowing us to be a part of her life. She has given us so much hope and inspiration. She’s perservered through the unimaginable throughout her young life and achieved so much in both simple and great ways.

Humanitarian Day has turned into appreciation day for me…conscious appreciation for the life I have and the people I share it with and gratitude of the opportunity to give back. Since learning of the campaign, I began thinking of ways and instances through which I could contribute. But while thinking of these “instances”, I discovered that Humanitarian Day should be incorporated into my daily life, in thought and in deed, now and tomorrow. It should always be a conscious thought, feeling and action. It doesn’t begin or end on the 19th of August. It should be…always.

https://www.thunderclap.it/whd-iwashere

There are a whole lot of beings, far and near, in my life who’ve given me the inspiration, strength and clarity of perspective to turn self-reflection into action -my parents and brother, our clients, Carolyn Ford, Gary Harrison, Cathy Nelson, Kim Mitchell… I have a short list of other members of my heart family that have not only helped and are still helping me evolve but who have and are making continuous and inspirational contributions to humanity through their work: Michael, Alicia Keys & Swizz Beatz, Hillary & Bill Clinton, Mary J, Russell Simmons, Annie Lennox, Beyonce & Jay-Z, our First Lady Michelle & President Obama, Peter Gabriel, Shakira, LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, Adrienne & Chris Bosh…

And I receive a special dose of inspiration to effect change within myself and in my actions for my blood and heart children- my son, Prince, Paris & Blanket, Egypt & KJ, Dallas & Deidre & Dre & LJ & Ar’e & Deuce & Assata, Blue Ivy, Jackson Bosh, Ming Lee & Aoki Lee, Chance, Naviyd & UR V, Chelsea, Malia & Sasha, Gala, Olivia, Cristiano Jr., the Ann Harrison’s, the Trayvon’s and all other children from every social background and in every corner of the globe.

I am here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, General Socio-economic & Socio-political Issues, Health Care, Religion & Spirituality, Women's Empowerment

Leave a Reply

